Dead Space

I will admit, I’ve never been a big fan of the survival horror genre but I decided to give this game a try considering that the environments look beautiful and it incorporates some reasonably novel concepts – like using industrial tools as weapons against the alien/zombie/mutant menace.  It was always a bit weird to me how an engineer or someone who is not some kind of space marine (I’M LOOKING AT YOU GORDON FREEMAN!) is miraculously able to pick up a sub-machinegun and wield it with considerable proficiency.  Not only is the protagonist an engineer but makes use of tools found on a mining ship in order to fight the enemy, rather than military grade weapons.  Then again, Half Life weapons were pretty believable too so I suppose that’s one of the hallmarks of a good game.

So, on to the game itself, I like the visuals and it’s wonderfully atmospheric.  They were going for a look and they really got it, I was on the edge of my seat with all the sound and use of blood and dead bodies.  I really like the way the HUD is handled as well as the over-the-shoulder perspective that I quite liked in Gears of War.  I may have made a few wrong decisions that made the game slightly frustrating but apart from that I have nothing bad to say about the graphics or gameplay either.  I’ll definitely be playing this one through to the end, it’s everything the hype promised, including the ability to PUNT BABIES!  Seriously!  There is nothing more freaky than when a mutant baby jumps out of nowhere and latches on to your face when you don’t see him coming and then you shake him off, followed by Isaac PUNTING THE BABY ACROSS THE ROOM!  I laugh every time I see it.  It’s awesome, if a little impractical.  I’m sure as hell not going to let myself get hurt just to punt babies, it gets a little disquieting after awhile to be limping around the ship with nary a bar of health or company save the sound of your own panting.

Yeah, fun times were had by all.

~ by Teabee on October 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
