Other Gems from Comiket

First of all, a happy new year to everyone around the world!  This will probably be my first post of the new year but if it isn’t I’m not bothering to check the timestamps so I won’t allow myself to be wrong.  This will probably be the first in a series of posts reviewing other interesting finds from the recent Comiket, aside from my three most anticipated releases (I’m currently in the process of acquiring Touhou M-1 the Third so to any readers out there, please look forward to it).  So, what shall we cover today…?

Mesopota’s newest flash roadshow on DVD, featuring songs by COOL&CREATE, IOSYS, and Silver Forest.  Demetori provides the background for a Touhou tennis style game which is a pretty addictive way to pass the time.  The DVD itself comes with a Shoot the Bullet style minigame where you score points for taking good screencaps of each of the flashes using a limited roll of film.  Presumably scoring high will allow you to unlock extras in the Spellcard menu but since I can’t read the moon runes I don’t know the first thing about what they’re saying.  As for the flashes themselves, I somehow managed to recognise most, if not all, of the songs that they were based on so that was a plus.  The minigames are both fun and addictive, though I haven’t yet unlocked all of the spellcards yet and I’m pretty terrible at Touhou Tennis so it may be awhile.  Perhaps the crowning achievement of this release, however, is the epic full-length animated video for Flower of the Sun, off the IOSYS Comiket 74 album Touhou Souyushinpi.  It’s one of my favorite songs and the flash itself is one of the greatest I’ve ever seen (done, as all good things are, by Locker Room Productions).  All of my favorite characters animated in Locker Room style…now my last wish is to see them do a full-length Thriller video with Orin and zombie fairies dancing!

Then I can die happy.

~ by Teabee on January 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
