Of StrikerS and Warmachine

Whew, I haven’t made a post in a little while.  I actually was trapped in London on Tuesday and unable to go home due to missing the last train out so I decided to crash at a friend’s place and play some more Warmachine while I was there, since I had the day off.  I finally managed to finish watching Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS and I found it a lot better than I was expecting.

Maybe it’s because I have very low expectations of anime, maybe it was because I’ve heard such bad things about StrikerS in general but I thought it was a pretty good entertaining series.  They managed to introduce a lot of new characters and develop them all while still keeping most of the old characters fresh and interesting with new character development, though even with 26 episodes they still left a fair few plots unresolved.  The StrikerS team was also guilty of a fair few QUALITY animation moments, but those didn’t really hamper my enjoyment of the show that much.  The thing about StrikerS that made me understand why people wouldn’t like it was also its greatest strength, at least in my view.  There were too many new characters introduced, and too much effort was made to try and develop all of them to the same standard as previous Nanoha characters.  While they all manage to have their own personalities, the new members of Section 6 all seem painfully generic by comparison to the old guard.  I also heard from my brother that the Volkenritter don’t get much screentime or do anything but I’m glad to see that this wasn’t really the case, though special Isn’t It Sad? mentions for Yuuno, Arf and Zafira who barely say anything and, in the case of the former two, barely get any screentime at all.  I suppose Jail Scaglietti was a pretty generic mad scientist type villain as well without the unique background or motivations that had made the Book of Darkness and Fate/Precia interesting, and Nanoha fans have probably come to expect a certain standard of their characters, especially after A’s.  The final issue I could pick up on was the pacing, it looks like with double the amount of episodes to work with, the StrikerS team had trouble keeping it right and had to draw out the battles and plotlines over a longer period of time, ending up biting off more than they could chew.  It was less tedious for me because I could watch all of them at once but I could definitely see where if I were watching one episode each week, I’d probably get bored.  It happened to me with Soul Eater, to be honest.

I still don’t see why it gets all of the flak it seems to on the internet, I’ve been told by all but the most hardcore Nanoha fans who watched StrikerS to not watch it but sometimes, you have to really find out for yourself before you can have an opinion.  I’m glad I watched it.  Now, here’s to hoping that there will be a good 4th season, although sometimes I think it should be allowed to pass gracefully into the annals of history.  Also, rainbows are straighter than Subaru.  Also, what the hell kind of name is Subaru?

On the wargaming front, after thinking about a Warmachine faction for a long time I decided I would go with Khador and use Karchev the Terrible as my main caster.  He’s a bit hard to work with but then again all the tactical warcasters are for that faction, of units with so many obvious strengths it makes me a little sick to the stomach by comparison to my Legion forces.  Not that I have any right to complain, but the Seraph is just one unit.  Seriously guys we know that they’re powerful but they’re only one unit.  Get over it.  Or do I need to bring up Champions and Woldwardens?  Or our lack of minions and power attacks beyond charge and slam?  Anyway, I’ve banged out a provisional list for him and will be ordering the models over the next few weeks, I just need to decide on a colour scheme that will be a viable alternative to this red, everyone does it and I’m not a big fan of the whole Imperial Russia look.

~ by Teabee on January 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
