To Aru Majutsu no Index – Episode 16

So I finally got caught up on all the episodes today.  I won’t really blog anime seriously on this blog, at least, not in the way that other sites do it with their massive walls of screencaps and links to youtube clips of awesome moments.  Well I may do some but this isn’t just an anime blog, I’m not going to go to that much trouble.  Also, if I were actually blogging anime I would have started writing on episode 1 instead of episode 16.  Nonetheless, I will say that the current story arc is vastly more interesting than the one before it.  I actually got a little depressed when I found out there would be no follow up to the Necessarius story arc and Index, at least not for a good long while, but I stuck through the Accelerator story arc trying to keep a positive outlook on life.

My patience was rewarded.  From a rather bizarre and confusing opening, the new arc about Angel Fall has really kicked off quickly with the twists and turns in the plot coming thick and fast.  Seriously up until some of the reveals stuff happened that I honestly did not expect, and I got to see more cool arcane diagrams and actual Christian-type magic.  As a fan of ‘walking churches’ and gothic architecture I love the way magic is depicted in To Aru Majutsu no Index, so the Accelerator arc didn’t really do it for me aside from seeing Pikachu-tan blowing stuff up.  I suppose the MISAKA clones are pretty cool too.  It’s just that the main villain of the previous arc was not a concept I enjoy – powers that are ambiguous enough to be reinterpreted into godhax are not my idea of an interesting character.  I guess that’s why I’m not a big fan of Yukari and Keine, characters like that.

Anyway, how many more plot twists can Kamachi-sensei throw at us in a single story arc?  How much more unfortunate can Kamijyo-chan get?  Will depicting Russian mages in stripperific bondage gear ever go out of style?  Is that a guy voicing Misha?  All these questions and more answered on the next episode of To Aru Majutsu no Index.

Oh yeah, and Annihilatus is an awesome name for a church sect.

~ by Teabee on January 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
