I…I…I have nothing funny to say here.

It’s a new day, dammit, I don’t care if I haven’t gone to sleep yet.  I just wanted to bring you all this special urgent announcement.e0088742_7424639SDSKJFOQRUQEROIUASDFJAKDJ OH MY GOD!!!  It’s Touhou 12!  My sources tell me the title translates as Seirensen or Star-Lotus Ship.  I don’t know if that’s really what it’s called, you’ll just have to trust my sources on this.  Obviously Undefined Fantastic Object is the subtitle and the game appears to be about a flying treasure-ship or something.  Reminds me suspiciously of another old Touhou game but I’m not going to indulge in PC-98 wishful thinking.  I’m okay with it being 100% new characters.  All I’m going to say is that Yumemi should be in this one…*hint* *hint*.  Right, as for playable characters, screenshots have shown Reimu, Marisa, and Sanae so far although it seems like a given that Sakuya will be cashing in on the action as well.  Screenshots show the classic bomb system making a return and a new scoring system revolving around lighting up UFO’s, sometimes in different colours.  Sanae herself, a relative newcomer to the playable cast, is seen using a spread-type attack similar to Marisa’s wide-angle attack from Subterranean Animism, although what other kind of shots she’ll have is anyone’s guess.  My only hope is that ZUN doesn’t go overboard and make her the new ReimuA, but that can’t be helped.  The man’s motives are known only to him.

Graphics-wise, I’d have to say this is the best-looking Touhou game yet.  For one, the Reimu on the title screen is particularly striking compared to other examples of ZUN-art, she seems to fit naturally into the background as well and isn’t overpowered by all that bright background.  Her in-game portraits look pretty good too, mostly good proportions from what I can see, and a more aesthetically pleasing hairstyle.  I really didn’t like SA Reimu.  In a way, UFO Reimu reminds me a bit of Utsuho and I liked Utsuho’s portrait in SA so I suppose it’s a good thing.  Can’t wait to see the style applied to Sanae and Marisa, and possibly Sakuya if she’s in it.  I’d like to take this opportunity to welcome back Spirit Sign “Fantasy Seal” -Concentrate-, I’ve really missed it and it looks pretty too.  It looks like ZUN has added some other interesting graphical features including health bars for the tougher enemies.  The bullets still look the same though, but that gives me a measure of comfort since I won’t have to learn that many new hitboxes.  New hitboxes are scary.

Demo scheduled for release at Reitaisai 6 and the full version is expected to be done in time for Summer Comiket.  Another thing to look forward to.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll get back to raving with the rest of the internet about how awesome this game will be.

~ by Teabee on February 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
