IOSYS – Toho Just a Moment!

I’m kinda surprised by the time I had finding this album, it was pretty difficult for me.  But, having popped the tracks into my computer, I can say that this album is exactly how I expected it to be.  I wasn’t too enthusiastic about the jazzy tracks with the exception of Ooeyama Giant Swing and while, quality-wise, they’re pretty good they’re not really my thing.  There were a few standout tracks on this one – Screaming Cool Match is definitely going on my iriver but it’s the closest we’ll get to an “insane” track on this album.  If there’s one thing that’s consistent about IOSYS, it’s that they always manage to do fun rock arrangements, and this one of Higan Retour and Fate of Sixty Years is no exception.  As usual, the drama tracks are beyond the scope of my review so I won’t go into them too much, but I must say I just love hearing those girls say “NANDA KORE WAAAAAAAAAAA?!”  Always brings a smile to my face.  It was pretty funny to hear Sikieiki’s gavel make a “gossun” sound every time it hit the podium, or table, or whatever.

Blazing Prison -the crow of “YATA”- didn’t rock my world as much as I thought it would, but that was some pretty good technical work with the guitar.  The other standout track was the really long one…*deep breath*[Singing Attempt] The Brides that Line Up the Affected Area are Impending the Precious Sun, Perfect Ignorant Fools! [Prismriver], which is exactly what it says on the tin, a medley of every single meme-generating/flash song that IOSYS has done over the years.  It’s like a little slice of IOSYS history; some people might call it exploitation and laziness but I just like how it sounds.  Other than that, the album didn’t have much else to offer but I expected it not to.

5/10 overall.  Now, please, excuse me.  GIANT SWING!!!  GIANT SWING!!!

~ by Teabee on March 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
