End of an Era

I remember it so well.  It was only two hours ago that I was bitching and complaining to my friends that I couldn’t make up my mind on what Warlock I wanted to use in 500 point Hordes games.  It was only two hours ago I was laughing and sharing stories with them.  It was only two hours ago that I got on the train back to Guildford, and then left without my models.  I realised and ran back to the train but it was far too late, and the doors had already locked taking my case with them.  It seems the decision was all but made for me.  Fucking hooray.

This loss has effectively torn the heart out of my Legion army.  A fully painted unit of Blighted Legionnaires, maximum size.  A half-painted unit of Blighted Swordsmen, maximum size.  A unit of Striders, based and undercoated.  5 Incubi, based and undercoated.  Four Shredders, in various states of repainting.  Thagrosh, the Prophet of Everblight, almost fully painted.  Two Carniveans.  A Seraph.  Almost all of my most powerful assets, gone in the space of 60 seconds.

Yet, all is not lost.  I still have enough models that, with a few purchases here and there, I could raise up a new army from the ashes.  I still have my Angelius and Raptors, which are the core of any Saeryn force, and most of my Warlocks were not in that case.  I have a second Seraph I never built or painted, that I now have an excuse to use.  Even the Carniveans and Shredders can be easily replaced through warpacks.  Blighted Swordsmen and Blighted Legionnaires are things I cannot easily buy back though.  These represent considerable cost and effort, and with my parents monitoring my expenditure closely I cannot get them through traceable sources.  I’ll have to find another way.  Perhaps this is an opportunity to try out those Warmongers I’ve always wanted to use.  Perhaps now is the time to get those unpainted models painted.

Nevertheless, the Legion will rise once again.  I need to find a way to not forget my models so easily.  Maybe if the case was cuffed to my wrist?

I’ve heard rumblings that a Warmachine campaign will be starting soon.  Since we have a representative of each faction, perhaps I will play Mercs.  Either Ashlynn, whom I have, or the Talion Charter which looks really awesome.  Aside from that, it’s still very much in the conceptual stages, so there’s plenty of time to decide.  Especially now.

Fuck.

~ by Teabee on March 18, 2009.

One Response to “End of an Era”

  1. Wow that’s really bad… I feel for you. Even though they are ‘just’ models it’s still a heavy blow to take, considering how much joy they can bring and the time, effort and money one has put into them….

    -DMC

Leave a Reply

 
