Salute 2009 Report

Well, I’m back.  Actually it was a single day affair but I spent the rest of the afternoon after I got back building and painting my models and somehow managed to stay up until 2:00 am despite the amount of coke I drank.  Well technically I stayed up til 1 but then DST caused it to jump ahead so I was in a state of half-shock when I realised I would be getting less sleep than normal.  Well that’s not strictly true, I just slept until midday.

So, Salute.  For those who don’t know, it’s a wargames convention held in London every year.  This was my first time going so I got to see the inside of the ExCeL centre and got a glimpse of some of the bigger names in wargaming.  Unfortunately my camera crapped up halfway through the event so I have no pics to show for it.  Stupid corrupted data.  You’ll just have to take my word for it that some of the boards were really impressive in the amount of detail and effort the companies put into them.  Most of the stuff was World War II related, unfortunately, historical wargaming doesn’t really do it for me.  The queue was as long as can be expected for a convention and as soon as I got in I made a beeline for the Privateer Press stand in order to snag my own eThagrosh model.  He’s pretty awesome and I’ll get pics up when he’s built and painted.  A bit of a pain in the ass to assemble and it may be a smart idea to pin all of the bits together first.  The legs in particular were quite a hassle as I couldn’t really get them to fit together.

Took part in a painting competition as well.  Didn’t win anything though, a pity.  Then went over to one of the other stands where they were selling Infinity minis and picked up a decent-sized force of Haqqislam troops.  The models are quite nice, although Corvus Belli is infamous for its horrific poses.  If you didn’t think it was possible for something to be too dynamic, one look at their range (available through their website) will change your mind.  At this point the hole in my pocket was starting to feel quite big so I decided to refrain from getting anything for Hell Dorado, besides which I’ve heard rumours that the company that makes it is in the toilet anyway.  But yeah, Haqqislam is one of the few factions where the majority of models don’t have silly poses, although on an individual level their soldiers aren’t as powerful, or so I heard.

Spent the last couple of hours hanging around the Games Workshop stand and chatting with the staff I know.  Learned some interesting stuff about some of the other companies although it’s probably common knowledge in the industry – stuff like the Perry brothers and their company, which produce historical minis but also designed much of the Lord of the Rings range, and Warlord Miniatures which is manned by a lot of ex-GW people.  It was a real eye-opener for me.  Ironically enough, I learned that GW owns a significant share in Privateer Press.  Whether this is true or not, it was certainly amusing.  After all, PP gained a lot of popularity when people started saying it was everything GW was not, and you’ll see a lot of people on the internet decry GW as evil, who only play PP games now.  Not that they’re wrong, but as someone who likes both companies’ games, it really irks me how superior their attitude can be sometimes.

Oh, they also had a remote-controlled tank exhibition which was pretty cool, as well as a remote-controlled tank battle game that was highly entertaining.  Overall a good day.  Pics of eThagrosh when he’s painted.

~ by Teabee on March 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
