K-On! Episode 4

GODDAMNIT INTERNET!

Well I’m not going to go into an extended rant because it’s not like there was anything bad about this episode.  I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like it.  Plus it’s a slice of life show so I suppose that an episode like this was to be expected.  You know the more I think about it, the more I decide that it was probably good that they got these shenanigans out of the way at the beginning.  If you’re on the internet at all, you should know what I’m talking about.

If you don’t, understand this: Episode 5 was basically a Mio fanservice episode.  Mioservice.  Or something.  KyoAni has (correctly) deduced Mio’s supernova-level popularity and made this episode to play up everything that’s moe about her.  I mean, Mio’s not my favorite character but you’d have to be a blithering idiot not to realise that she is probably the highest single concentration of moe in the show with Yui at a close second.  I could understand if they were just playing up her kuudere type attitude for laughs but the maid costume was when I just decided that they were pushing the envelope for all it was worth.

I have to have a healthy degree of respect for KyoAni in this situation.  They certainly didn’t go into this one half-heartedly.  I’m sure the Mio fanboys (and fangirls?) all over the world will be very pleased with this episode.  Heck, I could definitely appreciate it and Mio’s not even my favorite of the girls.

So yeah, don’t look for any sort of chemistry or development here.  Well it sorta gets pushed into the background in favour of moar Mio.  Gentlemen, your prayers have been answered.  I’m happy for you.  Other non-Mio related highlights in this one were basically all Mugi; I love how her solution for all of the light music club’s problems seems to be sweets.  Also her incredibly distorted sense of scale makes me smile.

~ by Teabee on April 24, 2009.

3 Responses to “K-On! Episode 4”

  1. and how did you watch the episode 5? i can’t find anything about the episode 5, even in youtube.

  2. Mugi is Yuri in this episode. she has the yuri-stalker thingy in her..

  3. Ooops…did I mess up? That was a typo! This is Episode 4 ;_;

Leave a Reply

 
