Double Feature! – Cagayake! Girls and Don’t say “lazy”

As you all know the singles for K-On’s OP and ED were released the other day.  I don’t remember exactly when.  I just managed to have a listen today, and I rather like what I hear.  We’ve all heard Cagayake! Girls and Don’t say “lazy” enough to decide whether we hate them or love them (hint: we love them and we love Don’t say “lazy” the most because Mio is singing it) and the full version of each is more of the same, so if you liked the TV-size you will enjoy the rest of it.  I’ll be concentrating more on the B-sides.

Judging from the style of Cagayake! Girls compared to Don’t say “lazy” I thought I was going to like the latter’s B-side more but I was surprised by how awesome Happy!? Sorry!! is.  An absurdly catchy beat and some electronica in the background put me in the mind of old video game music which is really awesome.  Yui’s voice singing the main vocals is really quite sweet without being saccharine and all bubblegum-like, and it doesn’t particularly overpower any of the other parts.  The other part I was impressed with was how well I could hear the keyboard parts, which usually get drowned out and understated in rock bands that have them, unless they happen to be the instrument of the lead singer but then it turns into prog rock, which is not really my thing.  The album art’s a little standard, a group shot of all the girls and then some individual inserts of Yui and Mio, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing given the standard of the show’s art thus far.

Sweet Bitter Beauty Song is a little less happy by contrast.  The guitars are nice and heavy, and we all know that Mio’s voice sings really well.  Basically the song is everything you would expect after hearing Don’t say “lazy”; I can’t think of anything more technical to say than that.  It kinda reminds me a bit more of rock from the early 90’s or some decade before I was born.  The music is very simple but its simplicity is its greatest strength and kinda captures the essence of what K-On! is all about.  None of the light music club are very good at what they do but they try their best and stick to trying to master something simple and effective that can’t be fucked up in a live performance which, speaking as a musician, is probably what I would try and do.  It also helps you get a feel for the basics, which will help you play more technically demanding stuff like they do in Happy!? Sorry!!  At the end of the day, though, it still doesn’t hold up compared to the strength of the main track.  If I had to choose one, I’d go with Don’t say “lazy” every time.  The album art is the same idea as Cagayake! Girls except it’s the girls in their ED costumes.  I’m not a big fan of that style honestly, it only really works for Mio and the rest are a little meh.  Actually I’d say it works for Ritsu as well.

So that said, if you can purchase them then please do.  If not, then you know what to do.  Get a job so that you have the money to purchase them :p

Damnit, I’m tired.  I’m going to sleep.

~ by Teabee on April 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
