Wargamer’s Creed

If I ever work for the company, everyone who comes for beginner sessions will be required to bring a codex.  Or a rulebook.  Bonus points if they bring both.  I would then print out copies of the creed and distribute it to each of them and give out prizes to anyone who memorises it and learns to bring their codex, rulebook, and army list from then on.  If the parents come and ask me I would tell them I’m trying to inculcate good habits, or something.  Well, this is probably why I shouldn’t be allowed within 500 metres of an empty blue shirt.  Who knows?

This is my codex.  There are many like it but this one is mine.  My codex is my best friend.  It is my life.  I must master it as I master my life.  My codex, without me, is useless.  Without my codex, I am useless.  I must know my codex well.  I must know it better than any opponent who is trying to beat me.  Unless I am playing Guard.  Seriously.  Strength 3 AP -.  It won’t help.  Not one bit. I must defeat him before he defeats me.  I will…

My codex and myself know that what counts in this game is not the agony of our defeats, the noise of our cheers, nor the armies that we play.  We know that it is the fun that counts.  We will have fun…

My codex is human, even as I, because it is my life.  I will give it a woman’s name. Thus I will learn it as a brother.  I will learn its weaknesses, its strengths, its units, its wargear, its background and its colour schemes.  I will keep my codex clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready.  We will become part of each other.  We will…

Before the Emperor I swear this creed.  My codex and myself are the defenders of the Imperium.  We are the masters of our opponent.  We are the saviours of my life.  So be it, until victory is ours and there is no enemy, but Peace.

~ by Teabee on May 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
