K-On! Episode 6

Ah, the girls’ first concert.  It kinda made me remember my first concert actually.  Or not, I don’t actually remember it that well.  I’ve always liked going up on stage and singing so I guess I can’t relate to Mio’s shyness.  This one…I don’t know.  I love Mio as much as anyone else on the internet but it seems like she’s supplanting Yui as the character on whom all the attention is focused.  Plus the Mio/Ritsu dynamic seems to be pushing all of the other character interplay to the sides as KyoAni milks this one for all it’s worth.  I haven’t read the original manga and I don’t know if this is a faithful adaptation or not but maybe it’s time I started so that I could see whether this was really a reaction to fan popularity or just the way things are supposed to be done.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate Mio but really guys, there are other characters on this show and I think they’ve got the potential to be equally humourous.  That said, I think this episode was quite important for Mio as well in the sense that she’s got a lot of doubts and insecurities to overcome despite (or rather because of) the fact that she is the most outwardly stable character.  So in a sense, this isn’t a pure Mioservice episode like 4 and it had some solid characterisation.  I’d be surprised if I wasn’t the only one who thought Yui sounds more moe with a scratchy voice and her sumo impression had me in stitches.  Mugi had her moment too, in the haunted house.

I also quite liked the way the art shifted during the live scene; I couldn’t describe it in technical terms or say what exactly I appreciated about it but I thought it worked really well with the song.  As for the song itself, I could take it or leave it.  I’ll wait for the single/OST to be released and listen to it then.

EDIT: I forgot to mention this in my haste to type up the entry but I was rather tickled by the inclusion of a Karakasa.  Given my obsession with Touhou and my love of Kogasa, it has a special significance for me.  I haven’t checked the anime thread on Shrinemaiden and I’m sure someone has posted this already, but in before someone says I saw this on Shrinemaiden.

konkarakasa

~ by Teabee on May 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “K-On! Episode 6”

  1. I think there staying pretty faithful to the 4-KOMA.

  2. If so, I have absolutely no problem with it. I’ll admit one of the weaknesses of my writing here is that I haven’t actually read the 4koma, I’ll have to go back and do that.

Leave a Reply

 
