K-On! Episode 7

Hooray, it’s the Christmas episode!  It’s also Part 4 of the Mio Moe Parade (phrase stolen from a certain Poonsawat.  It really is a good phrase.) but I think the series has gotten to a comfortable level where all moe is represented equally.  You know what?  I can’t think of a single bad thing to say about this episode now that I’ve seen it.  I love the way the gags were set up and from start to finish it was a wild ride of hilarity.  I think the what stood out most for me was all of the genuinely heartwarming moments.  There is just so much love between Yui and Ui, and a really deep sense of friendship between Mio and Ritsu that came across more clearly in Episode 7 than in any other before it.  Of course it was punctuated by Sawako’s crazy antics but on the whole I think the comedy was actually downplayed in favour of character interaction a bit.  I like that they did that; K-On is funny enough without having the whole episode be composed of gags and I think it really helps to throw in some more prosaic moments to give the audience the time to catch its breath.

That aside, after 7 episodes I realised that I’ve neglected to mention my renewed appreciation for KyoAni’s way of adapting 4komas, that is, they do it quite literally.  If you look closely you can see where individual strips were taken and pieced together to create an episode.  I don’t know what other people think of doing a 4koma adaptation that way but I think it’s a great way to do these shows; it worked for Lucky Star and definitely for Azumanga Daioh (although JC Staff was a lot less subtle about piecing the stories together in AzuDaioh than KyoAni has been in recent years).

That’s all I have to say about this episode.  If you haven’t watched it already, get on with it slowpoke.  For now, I’ll just say that Mugi in the shopping mall was my white princess; my moment of zen for today.

EDIT: Oh, on a side note, it was rather weird to see Ritsu being the straight character for a scene.

~ by Teabee on May 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
