Happiness! (Not actually about the visual novel)

I would like to play Happiness! at some point.  I’m just in a generally better mood tonight than I have been for a long while.  There are a few reasons for this – first, I went for an interview today for an internship in a law firm and got the place, so I not only have something to do for the summer but the potential to recover from the recent downturn in life that I’ve been experiencing.  The second is that I finally got around to watching the Utawarerumono anime adaptation and…god.  I’ve never been so sure before that I love an anime series in my life.  I mean, everything I’ve heard about it is true – they did stick closely to the source material and the OP was beautiful.  It reminded me why I fell in love with the visual novel in the first place and any anime that can do that is definitely worth watching.  I noticed a few oddities in the art, though, like where Aruruw is almost as tall as Eruruw when they’re both sitting down, but it’s not a big deal.  I’ll get to the OVAs once I’m done watching this – if I’m understanding correctly they cover parts of the visual novel that were never touched upon in the anime and if they’re at all as good as the series has been so far, I’ll be a happy panda.  Or rabbit.  Whatever.

Finished watching Maria Holic, and it made me smile, which is all I ask from a comedy anime.  I kinda feel that Kanako was trying too hard to be a lesbian for a show that never took itself too seriously.  Mariya was an unexpectedly interesting character.  I may be a bit shallow for saying this but one of the first thoughts that came to mind when I heard about the premise of the show was “if Kanako had sex with a man, would the inside of her vagina break out in hives?”  But I’m sure I wasn’t the only one.

Beat SRW OG2 the other day as well.  I was super-impressed by how awesome a fully-upgraded Alfimi is on the last two stages, but she was a little lacking in the damage department so I need to try upgrading her weapons next time.  Now for New Game+ and the Vysaga; I definitely want to see what it can do.

I may be limited in my ability to get games and anime now but I’m sure there will still be things to talk about.  Let’s all keep smiling and having useless discussions about moe and stuff, ‘kay?

~ by Teabee on June 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
