Fall Anime 2012

I just got the chance to look at the chart for the upcoming anime.  Jormungand Season 2 is an automatic pick so I won’t go into that too much.  What’s really important is selecting the animes I will give one shot.  Basically, I make a point of picking a few new anime from every season and giving them one episode to impress me.  Now, I know that there is a school of thought that says you should give an anime at least three episodes before deciding whether you like it or not but in my case, I have two reasons for not waiting that long.

First, I am not a hard person to impress.  At least at first.  A bad anime is still a bad anime and I could even drop it later on if I decide I don’t like it.  Second, a trend has been going on for the past couple of years where I look at each chart and decide that everything is crap except for one series that I may decide to pick up later.  The purpose of this exercise is to grab some things that I normally wouldn’t be interested in and give them a shot at surprising me.  Since I generally don’t like the premise of most of these animes, I feel as though I am giving them more than enough of a shot without sitting through three episodes.

Nobody pays me to do this.

So, the chart seems to be composed of mostly romantic comedies, shonen action shows, slice of life, and the occasional surprise; a sort of “odd one out”.  These are genres I’m not so hot on.  I don’t hate them, but it makes it hard for me to pick stuff out that might be promising.  On the bright side, the lineup for the fall seems to be better than normal, with some mysterious Urobuchi Gen project (maximum trolling, since I suspect he hates his fans in a humorous sort of way) and a JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure adaptation.  Believe it or not, I’m not a huge fan of that either so don’t expect any fanboying over its badassery or hotbloodedness here.  I make no promises.

Then there’s Girls und Panzer.  Ah, now this is interesting.  I can’t help but suspect that the anime industry was trying to capitalise on whatever success Upotte had with a new military moe series.  I’m ambivalent about it.  One one hand, I love military stuff and it’s cool but I thought the premise of Upotte was so overwhelmingly stupid that I didn’t bother to pick it up.  Having a “serious” alternative in Jormungand also helped.  Will military moe become just another trend with an obligatory entry in every season from here to eternity?  Well it didn’t really catch on with Strike Witches so it’s hard to say.  I think that ship sailed awhile ago.

As a final note, Kamisama Kiss sounds rather interesting if a little shoujo-ish.  I think I just found entry 1 on my list.

~ by Teabee on August 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
